Life for me is only a series of high’s and lows, mostly low’s. I have had a good week, but after a while, my brain can’t take it anymore and I end up crashing into depression. I have always been that way. Even on anti-depressants, I am still suffering these unexpected low’s. I feel really good for a few days and then I wake up depressed, down and alone in my soul. Its tough but even if it is, I am not stopping to work hard on my art. It’s sometimes all that I feel I am good at and that brings me joy, even if it is just a bit in this sea of darkness I am in today.

Last night, I worked on a new drawing. It was not easy and it is not perfect (darn eyes!) but I am getting better at it. I do this freehand in a A6 sketchbook that I always carry with me with my mechanical pencil and kneadable eraser. It’s all I need outside of my studio. I have a kit of graphite that has everything from 10H to 12B, with blending stumps, makeup brushes, erasers of different sizes, shamoy and anything in between. It is huge and I leave it in my studio for my bigger work. But, when it comes to studies, a simple small sketchbook with a mechanical HB pencil and an eraswer and I am all set. But for me, used to using all those grades of pencils for 30 years makes it really hard to only use one, but trust me when I say it is a huge teaching moment to use only one. I actually have to learn to gage my pressure on the paper and it is far harder than one thinks after 30 years of doing it all differently, but it is a lesson that I deeply enjoy. I am starting to wonder how I will go back to my wood pencils when it will be time to work on a bigger drawing. I have no idea, but I do know that I will adapt and thrive in my art.

Until then, I do hope you like this study. See you next time.

Young native american man, looking ahead with head slightly tured to his right. Flowing dark hair on dark leather jacket. Mechanical HB pencil in A6 Viviva paper sketchbook.